Eyelash Extensions – First Time Experience

Beauty & Fashion

Eyelash Extensions are trending right now. I mean, who doesn’t want longer, fuller lashes without spending time putting on messy fake eyelashes or applying coats and coats of mascara. I’ve been thinking about getting eyelash extention for awhile now. Some of my favorite YouTube bloggers swear by them, so why not try them out.

I used to wear fake eyelashes for special occasions, they were beautiful and made my eyes pop. The only problem I had was they were so heavy on my eyes and quite uncomfortable. I figured this was my opportunity to get that effect with them being super comfortable and semi-permanent.

Before doing anything, I did my research. A few friends had been to a place called Sass. I luckily found a groupon for this place (eyelashes can run up to $250). The only downside is that I booked an appointment in early December but couldn’t get an appointment until mid-January since I do not have a flexible schedule.

Sass, is a one woman show. Her name is Chanel Baring and she has been creating magic since 2009. She was very warm and welcoming, when I arrived for my appointment. I filled out a release form and laid on a message type table as Chanel examined my eyes. There are two ways to go with extensions, the natural look or the glamour look. Since I have dark features, love makeup and already have somewhat long lashes, I went with the glamour look. Chanel agreed that I could go for the glam lashes and picked from a wide variety of individual lashes that would look good on me.

The whole process took about a hour and a half. Thankfully, it didn’t hurt and it was actually pretty relaxing. Once she was all done, I was nervous to open my eyes because I though they might be heavy (like fake lashes) but it wasn’t! Chanel explained that I couldn’t get my lashes wet for 2 days, since the glue had to dry on the inside. She also went over the care instructions and what not to do.

Chanel’s Aftercare Advice

-Do not get the lashes wet, use a spa, sauna, pool or any strenuous activity for the first 48 hours. The extensions need that amount of time to properly bond.
-Avoid pulling or rubbing your eyes.
-Do not use eyelash curlers with your extensions. With proper application you will not need them.
-ONLY use oil-free makeup remover. If your eyelashes are tangled or crossed over, use the two spoolies given to you after your appointment to gently brush them straight and put them in place.
-Proper hygiene is very important. Please keep lash line clean by regular washing. You can use a gentle oil free foaming cleanser or baby shampoo.
-After showering avoid rubbing lashes, it best to air dry them.
-Dry the lashes by using a hair dryer on the cool setting and blowing them dry from the bottom up. It makes them curlier and fluffy.
-Use care when applying facial and eye creams to avoid the lash line. Too many oil-based products can break down the adhesive.
-SASS recommends touch-up appointments every two to four weeks to maintain your new eyelash extensions.

With Extension:

IMG_1363-0

Last words: I love them! I get compliments all the time and I already booked my next appointment. The hardest thing for me was not sleeping on my face/washing them/getting them wet. I also take full advance of fluffy them with my hairdryer on cool.

They even look good in pictures!

IMG_1362

 

Leave a Reply

